Australian cricket writer Geoff Lemon was at Lord’s on Tuesday, April 16 to receive this year’s Cricket Society/MCC Book of the Year Award during a Long Room dinner attended by a good number of Cricket Writers’ Club members.

Lemon’s book, Steve Smith’s Men, Behind Australian Cricket’s Fall, had the previous week also won Wisden’s cricket book of the year prize. He received a cheque for £3,000 for taking the Cricket Society/MCC award.
As in previous years, MCC invited a group of CWC members to help to host the event, and I am grateful to Lawrence Booth, Geoffrey Dean, Andrew Miller, John Stern, Dan Norcross and Graham Morris for joining me to represent the Club, and also to Neil Robinson at MCC for issuing the invites!
Simon Wilde, Stephen Fay and Mihir Bose were present as authors on the six-book shortlist, and other CWC members in the room included Vic Marks, Mike Selvey and Shilpa Patel. Simon Lister, a CWC associate member, gave a witty and very well-received keynote address based around his memories of Frank Keating.
The full Cricket Society/MCC Book Award shortlist was:
- Moeen, Moeen Ali with Mihir Bose (Allen and Unwin)
- On Cricket, Mike Brearley (Constable)
- Arlott, Swanton and the Soul of English Cricket, Stephen Fay and David Kynaston (Bloomsbury)
- Steve Smith’s Men, Behind Australian Cricket’s Fall, Geoff Lemon (Hardie Grant)
- Ambassadors of Goodwill: On tour with the MCC 1946-71, Mark Peel (Pitch Publishing) 
- England, The Biography: The Story of English Cricket, Simon Wilde (Simon and Schuster)
Mark Baldwin, CWC Chairman
April 17, 2019