A total of 15 titles have made it onto this year's longlist, with judging committee chair Paul Edwards saying: "this is one of the strongest years for cricket books in recent memory"

Published: August 9, 2021

The longlist for the 2021 Derek Hodgson Book Award has been announced, with 15 titles making the cut.

The judging committee, headed by Paul Edwards, will now set about producing a shortlist from which the winner will be picked.

The winner will be announced at the Cricket Writers' Club annual lunch on October 5.

Edwards said: "The longlist for the Derek Hodgson Book Award is issued with much pleasure but also considerable regret. The pleasure is derived from the quality of books on the list, the regret from the number of fine titles that have not made it this time.

"The two emotions are closely linked, of course. The general consensus of the committee is that this is one of the strongest years for cricket books in recent memory and the exclusion of some titles was difficult indeed.

​"It will also be noted that the list contains 15 books and is therefore longer than for many years past. As chair I take full responsibility for this. In a year when many decisions were already difficult, I was content to prioritise quality over precedent. Inevitably, though, the length of the list may lead some to suggest that it was harder to be excluded from the list than to appear on it. No, it wasn’t.
"I am pleased the list reflects the diversity of cricket books being published as well as its quality. There are two club histories and two publications from the Association of Cricket Statisticians. But such diversity was neither our aim nor a criterion for inclusion. The job was tricky enough already."

The full longlist is as follows: 

Mike Brearley – The Spirit of Cricket
Stephen Brenkley – Small Town, Big Dreams  (The Barnard Castle CC history)
Stephen Chalke – Horse and Cart to Helicopter (The Lansdown CC history)
James Coyne and Timothy Abraham – Evita Burned Down Our Pavilion
Ramachandra Guha – The Commonwealth of Cricket
Nick Greenslade – The Thin White Line

Duncan Hamilton – One Long and Beautiful Summer
Nathan Leamon & Ben Jones – Hitting Against the Spin
Jeremy Lonsdale – A Game Divided
Mick Pope –  Bill Bestwick, Rough Diamond
Ian Ridley – The Breath of Sadness
Charles Sale – The Covers are Off
David Warner – Just a Few Lines
Chris Waters – The Men who Raised the Bar 
Jonty Winch and Richard Parry – Too Black to Wear Whites