The shortlist for the 2021 Derek Hodgson Book Award has been announced, with seven titles making the cut.

The judging committee, headed by Paul Edwards, have whittled down a longlist of 15 titles to the remaining seven.

The winner will be announced at the Cricket Writers' Club annual lunch on Tuesday, October 5.

The full shortlist is as follows: 

Mike Brearley – The Spirit of Cricket
James Coyne and Timothy Abraham – Evita Burned Down Our Pavilion
Ramachandra Guha – The Commonwealth of Cricket
Nick Greenslade – The Thin White Line

Duncan Hamilton – One Long and Beautiful Summer
Ian Ridley – The Breath of Sadness
Jonty Winch and Richard Parry – Too Black to Wear Whites 


Published: September 17, 2021

Seven titles have made it onto the shortlist from an initial longlist of 15, with the winner set to be announced at the CWC annual lunch on Tuesday, October 5