The Lord’s Taverners is the UK’s leading youth cricket and disability sports charity whose objective is to give disadvantaged and disabled young people a sporting chance.

Our mission is to enhance the lives if disadvantaged and disabled young people through sport and recreation.

Our programmes support some of the most marginalised and at risk young people in the UK. We create a range of opportunities for young people from deprived areas and those with disabilities to engage in sport and recreational activities in their local communities.

For more information about the Lord’s Taverners, please visit



An informal (and fairly impromptu!) CWC social was held on the third evening of the Women’s Ashes Test in Taunton in July, thus extending the tradition of a social with the touring men’s Test match media to the women’s game as well. We were delighted that around 25 members of the media (pictured above) came along for a drink at the Hideout Pub, and we may have gained a few new members as a result.


Tuesday, 1st October, 2019 at 12:00 for 13:15
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair, London W1K 6JP


Corporate sponsor’s table of 10 = £1,250.00
Media table of 10 = £950.00
Individual member = £75.00
First guest (i.e. non-member) = £75.00
Subsequent guests = £90.00
Teetotal ticket = £60.00

As in previous years, the Annual Lunch will be preceded by a drinks reception (from 12 noon) and lunch will start at 1.15pm. Our CWC Awards will be part of the formal proceedings and all formalities are expected to finish around 4pm. The hotel will then allow us to stay until around 7.30pm-8pm for post-lunch drinks.

All tickets will be inclusive of reception, lunch and some post-reception drinks (sparkling wine on arrival, soft drinks throughout, white and red wine with lunch and ‘unlimited’ beer/lager from Fuller’s and Haresfoot breweries pre and post-lunch).

Please order your ticket(s) as soon as you can - first by contacting Shilpa Patel to book your place (and also to indicate any menu preferences - see below) and then by sending your cheque to Marcus Hook (address in CWC Handbook), or making your bank transfer to CWC (and letting Marcus know!). Only when your payment has been received will Marcus send out your tickets to you.



Goat’s Cheese & Sweet Potato Cake, Plum Sauce, Dark Soy Mayo (this is also a Vegetarian dish)


Smoked Salmon & Rocket Tart, Caviar & Watercress Cream

Main Course

Steamed Fillet of Plaice, Crayfish & Herb Mousse, French Beans, Heritage Carrot Ribbons, Fondant Potato, Saffron Cream Sauce


Duck Confit, Roast Sweet Potato, Tender Stem Broccoli, Red Cabbage, Pea Puree


Butternut Squash & Wild Mushroom Wellington, Served with Your Main Menu Garnish, Herb Cream Sauce


Raspberry & White Chocolate Torte, Champagne Raspberries, Raspberry Macaroon

*PLEASE NOTE: If you do not let Shilpa know any alternative dishes (or specific dietary requirements) then you will get Goat’s Cheese starter, Plaice main course and Torte dessert. This will be the meal on the Menu Cards.

Please do all you can to support this year’s CWC Annual Lunch at its new venue.
20/08/2019: Is Steve Smith The Ronaldo Of Cricket? Australia Odds Drift For Third Test

William Hill have been inundated by England cricket fans over the last 24 hours as Steve Smith was ruled out of the Third Test of the Ashes. Originally priced at Even money, Joe Root's men have been backed in to 8/15 via a bit of 4/5. Australia, on the other hand, have drifted from 11/10 to 11/8.

"There are only a few sportspeople in the world whose absence can cause their team's price to drift so much,” said William Hill spokesman
Rupert Adams. "In the past, Ronaldo's absence for Portugal and Jonny Wilkinson's for England have done just that and now Steve Smith has joined the list."

Third Test winner:

8/15 England; 11/8 Australia; 13/2 draw

Man of the match:

6/1 Joe Root, 6/1 Jofra Archer, 9/1 Ben Stokes, 12/1 Stuart Broad, 12/1 Nathan Lyon, 12/1 Pat Cummins, 12/1 Mitchell Starc, 12/1 David Warner, 14/1 Chris Woakes, 14/1 Josh Hazlewood, 14/1 Rory Burns, 14/1 James Pattinson, 14/1 Jack Leach, 16/1 Usman Khawaja, 16/1 Travis Head, 16/1 Jonny Bairstow, 18/1 Jason Roy, 18/1 Peter Siddle, 20/1 Mitchell Marsh, 20/1 Marnus Labuschagne, 20/1 Sam Curran, 20/1 Cameron Bancroft, 20/1 Jos Buttler, 25/1 Matthew Wade, 25/1 Marcus Harris, 25/1 Joe Denly.

The objects of the CWC are to further the interests of those involved with the media coverage of cricket and of cricket as a whole.

The CWC will in no way endeavour to dictate policy or influence opinion in the cricket media nor have any concern with the policy of newspapers and other outlets: and at no time have any concern with the relations between employers and their staff as to who is employed.

Full Membership shall be open to all those employed full-time for not less than four months in any one calendar year in the media coverage of cricket in the United Kingdom. Honorary Life Members may be elected at the Annual General Meeting from those who have given distinguished service both to the profession of cricket writing and to the Club.

Associate Members may be elected by the Committee at any time from those engaged in writing, reporting, photographing, commentating, broadcasting and recording cricket on a part-time basis in the UK. Honorary Associate Members may be elected by the Committee at any time from distinguished former Full Members, senior touring writers, scorers of first-class counties, who may be invited, and such cricketing persons as the Committee may wish to invite.

Only Full Members and Honorary Life Members will have voting rights. Full Members and Associate Members will pay a subscription. Honorary Associate Members will be entitled to attend all meetings and functions and, if based in the United Kingdom, will receive Club mailings. Overseas Members may be elected by the Committee at any time from those engaged in writing, reporting, commentating, broadcasting and photographing cricket outside the United Kingdom and British Isles. They shall be entitled to attend all meetings and functions and may apply, by electronic mail, for all the Club's mailings.

​KEY WORDS Cricket Writers' Writers Club Cricket County Test MCC ECB ICC Times Telegraph Guardian Independent Mail Evening Standard Fleet Street News Journalists Journalism Journo Journos Media Press Cricket Box Centre Press Association Events Awards History Derbyshire Durham Essex Glamorgan Gloucestershire Hampshire Ireland Kent Lancashire Leicestershire Middlesex Netherlands Northamptonshire Nottinghamshire Scotland Somerset Surrey Sussex Unicorns Warwickshire Worcestershire Yorkshire ESPN Cricinfo Sportinglife BBC Yahoo Jonathan Agnew John Arlott Richie Benaud Brian Johnston Christopher Martin-Jenkins William Hill Smile Group Travel Investec Waitrose


Find out more about the Club, including its history, honours board and officers.

The CWC is indebted to the generosity and close involvement of a number of sponsors and business partners.

For the latest Cricket Writers' Club news and announcements.